Congrats Dr. Wayne Sarasua!

Congrats Dr. Wayne Sarasua!

The ITE 2016 Annual Meeting & Exhibit in Anaheim, Calif., ended on Wednesday of this week. At the Awards Luncheon on Monday, Dr. Wayne Sarasua of Clemson University was the recipient of the Wilbur S. Smith Distinguished Transportation Educator Award.

Dr. Sarasua is an Associate Professor of Civil Engineering at Clemson University. In addition to his classroom teaching, writing, and research, we all know him as the passionate leader of the Tigers’ Traffic Bowl Team each year at the Southern District ITE Annual Meeting.

Wilbur S. Smith, an Honorary Member and the 11th International President of ITE, was a legend in the transportation community, known and respected worldwide for his innovative transportation systems and his lifelong commitment to the furtherance of the profession. His illustrious career included serving as professor and associate director of the Bureau of Highway Traffic at Yale University. The Wilbur S. Smith Distinguished Transportation Educator Award recognizes a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the transportation profession by relating academic studies to the actual practice of transportation.

Congrats Wayne!

We hope to feature more on the meeting in the next edition. For those who are savvy in social media, search #ITEAnaheim until then for other re-caps, images, and opinions.

Leave a Reply