SDITE Awards Presented in Columbia

posted in: Awards, Students | 0

A wide range of awards was presented at the Annual Banquet of the Southern District ITE Annual Meeting in Columbia, South Carolina on March 28, 2017.

Individual Awards

  • Joseph M. Thomas Young Member Award – Ryan T. Eckenrode
  • Excellence in Transportation Engineering Education Award – Dr. William “Jeff” Davis (The Citadel)
  • John F. Exnicios Government Employee Outstanding Service Award – Stanley F. Polanis
  • Private Sector Employee Outstanding Service Award – Edward E. Watt
  • Marble J. Hensley Outstanding Individual Activity Award – K Scott Walker Jr
  • Herman J. Hoose Distinguished Service Award – Cynthia (Cindy) M. Pionke

Section Awards

  • Outstanding Section Award (Group 1) – North Carolina Section
  • Outstanding Section Runner-Up Award (Group 1) – Virginia Section
  • Outstanding Section Award (Group 2) – Alabama Section
  • Outstanding Section Runner-Up Award (Group 2) – Deep South Section

Student Awards

  • Best Student Chapter Award – University of Tennessee
  • Best Student Chapter Runner-Up Award – Clemson University
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student Paper Award – Erin Lammers (University of Kentucky) for a paper titled “Applicability of Zipper Merge Versus Early Merge in Kentucky Work Zones”
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award – Nancy Dutta (University of Virginia) for a paper titled “Evaluation of Safety Effectiveness of Roundabouts in Virginia”
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Runner-Up Award – Alexandra Marie Boggs (University of Tennessee) for a paper titled “Tennessee’s Truck Parking Shortage and its Influence on Fatal Interstate Crashes”

Technical Paper Awards

  • Best Young Member Technical Paper Award – Jin Wang for a paper titled “Comparison of the Green Arrow and the Circular Green for Turn Prohibition to Reduce Wrong Way Movements at Interchange Terminals”
  • Best Member Technical Paper Award – Tyson Graves, Bowman Kelly and Chris Cunningham for a paper titled “An Assessment of Highway Capacity Manual Default Saturation Flow Rates to Those in North Carolina”
  • Best Member Technical Paper Runner-Up Award – Dr. O. Elsayed Ramadan and Dr. Virginia Sisiopiku for a paper titled “Performance Based Work Zone Scheduling in Central Alabama”

Leave a Reply